6 Bulldogs make All-Region XIV Baseball

If baseball is really 90 percent pitching then watch out for Navarro in the upcoming Region XIV Tournament.

The Bulldogs had six players, including their top three pitchers, named to the Region XIV All-Region team that was announced on Wednesday, a day before the Region XIV Tournament begins.

J.D. Hammer and Corsicana grad Holden Grounds were both named to the first team and lefty Jorge Flores made the second team.

Hammer went 5-1 with a 1.37 ERA and struck out 58 batters in 85 1/3 innings. Grounds went 8-4 with a 2.90 ERA and was one of the best in the region at blowing  hitters away.

Grounds struck out 77 batters in 77 1/3 innings.  Flores, who threw a no-hitter this season, went 3-5 with a 2.98 ERA and struck out 56 in 75 1/3 innings.

Navarro shortstop Mason Hesse and outfielder were named to the first team and third baseman Grayson Lewis made the second team.

Hesse hit .333 and drove in 22 runs while scoring 26 runs. McDonnell hit .326 with 24 RBI’s and he scored 20 runs.

Lewis batted .306 and scored 32 runs. He also drove in 22 runs, and the combination of Hesse and Lewis in the field gave Navarro the best left side of the infield in the region.

The Region XIV Tournament begins Saturday in Lufkin, with Navarro meeting Blinn in a 10 am opener.

Here’s a look at the entire Region XIV Team:

Player of the Year – Bradley McDonald – Paris
Pitcher of the Year – Callaway Kirkpatrick – Paris
Freshman of the Year – Cannon Chadwick – Paris  and Blain Gillespie – Angelina

Victor Negron – Northeast – (First Team)
Ryan Pulsifer – Paris  – (Second Team)

First Base
Austin Griffin – Northeast – (First Team)
Alex Hrinevich – Angelina College (Second Team)

Second Base
Casey Dickerman – Northeast – (First Team)
Garrett Dodd – Paris Junior College – (Second Team)

Mason Hesse – Navarro College – (First Team)
Sam Kohler – Angelina  – (Second Team)
Jake Garcia – Panola  – (Second Team)

Third Base
Greg Belton – Angelina – (First Team)
Grayson Lewis – Navarro  – (Second Team)
Logan Terwilliger – Paris  – (Second Team)

Sam McDonnell – Navarro – (First Team)
Hunter Wilcher – Bossier Parish  – (First Team)
John Shattles – Panola  – (First Team)
Hunter Owens – Panola  – (Second Team)
Logan Sepanek – Paris – (Second Team)
Trey Mound – Paris – (Second Team)

JD Hammer – Navarro College – (First Team)
Holden Grounds – Navarro – (First Team)
Marshall Kasowski – Panola – (First Team)
Tanner Griggs – Angelina  – (First Team)
Preston Guillory – Panola – (First Team)
Garrett Cooper – Angelina – (First Team)

Jorge Flores – Navarro College – (Second Team)
Thomas Auger – Bossier Parish – (Second Team)
Javarias Banks – Bossier Parish – (Second Team)
Heston Van Fleet – Paris  – (Second Team)
Zack Osbon – Northeast – (Second Team)
Kyle Black – Panola  – (Second Team)
Tanner Buxton –  Northeast  – (Second Team)

Designated Hitter
Bryson Longman – Angelina  – (First Team)
Dalton Gould – Bossier Parish  (Second Team)