1976, 1977 NC teams reunite here on NMMI weekend

Members of the Bulldogs’ 1976 and 1977 conference football championship teams will be recognized at halftime of Saturday’s Navarro-NMMI football game, athletic director Roark Montgomery said.

Former NJCAA All-Americans — offensive lineman Drew Montgomery and running back Kelvin Russell — are spearheading the 40-year reunion.  Many players from head coach Harold Hern’s teams are expected here this weekend.

Each of those Navarro teams finished an 8-2 regular season.  The 1976 team won an outright Texas Junior College Football Conference (TJCFC) title, but was not invited to play in a post-season bowl game.  The 1977 squad shared a league title and also won the 1st Garland, Texas, JUCO Bowl over Northeastern Oklahoma A&M, 35-28, at Homer B. Johnson Stadium.