$780.00 plus $135.00 exam fee

Notice to Students Regarding Licensing – Phlebotomy

Effective September 1st 2017, HB 1508 amends the Texas Occupations Code Section 53 that requires education providers to notify you a potential or enrolled student that a criminal history may make you ineligible for an occupational license upon program completion.

The following website provides links to information about the licensing process and requirements.

Should you wish to request a review of the impact of criminal history on your potential Phlebotomy License prior to or during your quest for a degree, you can visit this link and request a “Criminal History Evaluation.”

This information is being provided to all persons who apply or enroll in the program with notice of the requirements as described above, regardless of whether or not the person has been convicted of a criminal offense.

Additionally, HB 1508 authorizes licensing agencies to require reimbursements when a student fails to receive the required notice.

Phlebotomy is a course composed of 48 hours of lecture covering the theoretical and practical aspects of specimen collection for clinical laboratories. Professionalism, ethics, medical terminology, related anatomy and physiology, specimen processing and handling, quality assurances, safety and universal precautions covered.  Upon successful completion of teh competencies and minimum grade of 70 in each of the following areas: lecture tests, practical, and exit exam, students enter the clinical phase of the course, which includes 120 hours of experience at one of the approved clinical facilities.  Upon successful completion of clinical competencies, students will be eligible to apply for a phlebotomy certification through AMT (American Medical Technologist), ASCP (American Society of Clinical Pathologist) or other certification agencies.  Certification is granted by the certifying organization after receiving a passing grade on their exam.  Cost for the exam is about $135.00

In order to be registered, a student must provide:

  • Statewide Background Check
  • Immunization Record with the following:
    • One dose of Tetanus-Diphtheria toxin within the last ten years
    • Measles, Mumps, Rubella vaccine – series of two (2)
    • Complete series of Hepatitis B – three (3) shots
    • Variclla vaccine (Chicken Pox) or acceptable evidence of the disease
    • Negative TB skin test or Negative Chest x-ray
  • Copy of high school diploma or GED

Student will be required to do a drug test on the instructor’s timetable.


For information call 903-875-7557
Course Cost - $780
Testing for Certification is approximately $135 (after class has ended)
2/8/2017 - 3/29/2017 (Lecture)
3/30/2017 - 4/30/2017 (Clinical)
17/Q2 PLAB 1023 C172A
17/Q2 PLAB 1060 C172A
5:30p.m.-9:00p.m.Drane Hall, Room 206
For information call 972-923-6483
Course Cost - $780
Testing for Certification is approximately $135 (after class has ended)
5/9/2017 - 6/22/2017 (Lecture)
6/23/2017 - 7/23/2017 (Clinical)
17/Q3 PLAB 1023 W173A
17/Q3 PLAB 1060 W174A
For Phlebotomy Workforce Information:


  • Student must be available 20 hours per week, Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • Student may need to drive up to 50 miles one way for clinicals.


Phlebotomy Handbook, 9th Edition
by Garza & Becan-McBride


The following immunizations are required by law according to Section 2.09 of the Texas Education Code Revised May 25, 2010 for all students enrolled in higher education courses involved in direct patient care contact. (This policy may also be applicable to students enrolling in the Child Development Associate credentialing program.) Students enrolled in the following courses MUST have documentation of the required immunizations on file with the NC Continuing Education office prior to participating in any clinical. This applies to any student participating Certified Nurse Aide and Phlebotomy.

  1. TETANUS / DIPHTHERIA (Immunization) Students must have proof of tetanus/diphtheria immunization within last 10 years.
  2. RUBELLA (Immunization or blood test) All students must have proof of one dose of rubella vaccine administered on or after their 1st birthday OR serologic confirmation of rubella immunity or serologic evidence of infection.
  3. MEASLES (Immunization or blood test) All students born after January 1, 1957 must have proof of two doses of measles vaccines administered on or after their 1st birthday at least 30 days apart OR proof of immunity to measles (serologic confirmation). At least one dose must be completed prior to patient contact. Measles is also known as rubella.
  4. MUMPS (Immunization or blood test) All students born after January 1, 1957 must have proof of one dose of mumps vaccine administered on or after their 1st birthday OR proof of mumps immunity (serologic confirmation).
  5. VARICELLA (Immunization or blood test). All students must have one dose of varicella vaccine after their 1st birthday if the vaccine was received prior to the 13th birthday, or two doses of varicella vaccine if the vaccine was received after the 13th birthday. Serologic confirmation (blood test) of varicella immunity is also acceptable. Effective July, 2013 – statements of history of illness are no longer acceptable.
  6. HEPATITIS B (Immunization or blood test) Effective February 15, 2007, all students in NC Continuing Education classes that involve direct patient contact clinicals, will be required to provide the following: prior to course registration
    • (a) Written proof of all three Hepatitis B shots (copy of shot record) OR
    • (b) Written proof that they have had the first shot of the three-shot series (copy of shot record) and provide the original of their completed and notarized waiver: “Exemption from Immunizations for Reasons of Conscience Affidavit Form” for exemption from the two remaining shots. OR
    • (c) Provide the original of their completed and notarized waiver: “Exemption from Immunizations for Reasons of Conscience Affidavit Form” for exemption from all three shots. The request for waiver must follow the processes of the Texas Health Department and it is the student’s responsibility to submit the documentation in a timely manner to the State. A waiver, approved by the Texas health Department, must be on file in the Continuing Education office.
  7. Current TB Test. No older than one year prior to class end date. Note: A MMR immunization includes two measles, one mumps, and one rubella vaccination.

PREGNANCY – Requirements for measles, rubella and mumps vaccines are waived during pregnancy. Pregnancy is not a medical contraindication for administration of Tetanus/diphtheria toxoids, but it is best to delay until the second trimester.

Copies of records from physician’s offices, public health department, public schools, other colleges and the military are acceptable. Students should provide the college with a copy of the records. Please do not turn in the originals. RECORDS MUST BE COMPLETE PRIOR TO COURSE REGISTRATION.

Note: Students may call the Department of State Health Services Immunization Branch Hotline for assistance on any immunization-related issue, including the interpretation of immunization records. The phone number is (800) 252-9152.


Continuing Education - Ellis County Campus
Darla Littrel, Coordinator
Office: Waxahachie Campus
Work Phone: 972.923.6440
Work Email:
Continuing Education - Navarro County & South Campuses
David Edwards, Coordinator
Office: Corsicana Campus, Bain Center, Room 101
Work Phone: 903.875.7557
Work Email:




square_blackMedication Aide
square_blackNurse Aide