16-team NJCAA Softball Tournament field set

Top-ranked Salt Lake CC on Saturday claimed the Region XVIII Scenic West Athletic Conference championship and became the 16th and final to qualify for the NJCAA D-I Softball Tournament Championship berth at St. George, Ut.

On Thursday, May 7, Region IX winner Western Nebraska (56-12) swept Region VI champion Barton CC, Ks., 6-4, 7-4 to win the District E title and to earn the 15th slot in the 16-team field.

The Region XVIII Double-Elimination Tournament came down to the top three seeds — SLCC, fourth-ranked College of Southern Idaho and Southern Nevada — but region rules reverted the tournament into single-elimination after rain and inclement weather Saturday.  Tournament unbeaten SLCC (47-7) was awarded the bid.

All qualifiers will be seeded Sunday before the May 13 start of the national tournament.


District – Team (Record)
A – Eastern Arizona (45-16)
B – Northeastern Oklahoma A&M (46-14)
C – Howard (45-12)
D – Temple (49-10)
E – Western Nebraska CC  (56-12)
F – Chattanooga State (45-11)
G – Chipola (44-10)
H – Miami Dade (31-19)
I – Shelton State (32-24)
J – Jefferson (55-4)
K – Blinn (43-14)
L – Navarro (38-22)
M – Georgia Perimeter (25-19)
N – Salt Lake CC (47-7)
O – Wallace State-Hanceville (62-12)
P – Wabash Valley (37-11)