Double-winner Almeida heads NC’s all-conference picks

BAYTOWN — Navarro claimed three superlative, three first-team and two second-team honors on the Region XIV East Zone All-Conference team selected by coaches.

Among superlatives, Coach of the Year Ronda Shirley was joined by double-winner Luana Almeida. Almeida was named the league’s Newcomer of the Year and Libero of the Year.

Bulldogs on the first-team included Almeida, freshman setter Emily Witt and sophomore right-side hitter Viktoria Velika.

Second-team honors went to middles Bailey Foy and Deja Arnold.

The mythical team was announced Sunday after the conclusion of the three-day, double-elimination tournament here.

Region XIV Coach of the Year Ronda Shirley from Navarro takes her ninth team to participate in a national volleyball tournament since 2004.

2018 Region XIV East Zone
All-Conference Selections
Player of the Year: Taya Mitchell, Tyler
Newcomer of the Year: Luana Almeida, Navarro
Setter of the Year: Isabela Dobra, Tyler
Libero of the Year: Luana Almeida, Navarro
Coach of the Year: Ronda Shirley, Navarro
Taya Mitchell, Middle, Tyler
Luana Almeida, Libero, Navarro
Isabela Dobra, Setter, Tyler
Juliana Vaz, Outside Hitter, TVCC
Emily Witt, Setter, Navarro
Viktoria Velika, Right Side Hitter, Navarro
Rebecca Rabius, Right Side Hitter, Panola
Lauren Castles, Middle, TVCC
Bailey Foy, Middle, Navarro
Daphinie Correa, Middle, Panola
Vanessa Silva, Middle, Tyler
Maci Matherne, Libero, Tyler
Hannah Ramirez, Libero, Panola
Yasmin da Silva, Outside Hitter, TVCC
Ana Paula Zondona, Setter, TVCC
Deja Arnold, Middle, Navarro
Thaynara Godoi, RS/MB, Panola
Anya Olsen, DS, Tyler
Mikayla Ware, Outside Hitter, Panola
Audry Lopez, Libero, TVCC