VB field fills with 1 district winner, 2 at-large selections

VB field fills with 1 district winner, 2 at-large selections


HUTCHINSON, Ks. — The 2018 NJCAA National Volleyball Tournament field is near completion, with one final district champion to be determined Tuesday night and two at-large entries chosen Wednesday.

The last remaining slot goes to the winner of Tuesday’s match at Cahoon Armory in Roswell, N.M., between Region I champion Arizona Western and Region V West winner New Mexico Military Institute.

On Wednesday, the NJCAA will offer bids to two other squads that did not qualify.  Non-qualifying programs like Snow, St. Petersburg, and, even possibly a third Region XIV East Zone team — TVCC.

Here’s the incomplete list of qualifiers for the NJCAA National Tournament at Hutchinson, Ks.

College of Southern Idaho (27-2)
Northeastern (26-5)
Laramie County (29-8)
TBD (Arizona Western at NMMI on Tuesday, Nov. 6)
Hill (27-6)
Tyler (27-6)
Navarro (37-4)
Miami Dade (29-1)
Polk State (21-6)
Iowa Western (35-3)
Mineral Area (27-3)
Wallace State (33-7)
Monroe College (17-11)
Seward County (30-5)
(Two at-large teams to be added Wednesday.)


Third-ranked Navarro leads the NJCAA field in victories (37).  The Bulldogs have played five — and maybe six — national qualifiers:  Laramie County, Hill, Tyler, Seward County, Ks., and Iowa Western.  They also have faced NMMI this season.  NC has a 5-1 record against the six.