Gonzalez, Rugely earn all-tourney honors

Gonzalez, Rugely earn all-tourney honors


GRAND JUNCTION, Co — Navarro Baseball’s Jose Gonzalez, Jr., and Cash Rugely were named Saturday night to The Alpine Bank JUCO World Series All-Tournament Team and also received special individual honors.

Awards were presented after Central Arizona won the NJCAA Division I Baseball Championship over Iowa Western, 13-8, at Suplizio Field.

In addition to the all-tournament selections, Gonzalez, Jr., was named the recipient of “The Homa Thomas Sportsmanship Award,” and Rugely was given “The Jay Tolman Outstanding Defensive Player” of the series.

Gonzalez, Jr., hit .500 in the series (10-for-20), with individual tournament-highs of 5 home runs, 16 runs-batted-in, and 26 total bases. Gonzales, Jr. became the 12th player in JUCO World Series history to hit three home runs in a single game and the first to do it in 10 years.

The Navarro designated hitter’s .500 average was fifth and his 1.300 slugging percentage was second among all players.

Rugely batted .474 (9-for-19), scored eight runs, hit two home runs and drove in five. The Region XIV Eastern Conference Player of the Year finished the tournament tied for fourth in hits (9), fifth in runs (8) and sixth in total bases (16).

Rugely’s .962 defensive prowess was recognized with the Tolman Award. Navarro’s shortstop committed only one error in 26 chances, had 20 assists, five putouts and was involved in five double plays.
The Bulldogs, incidentally, led the JUCO World Series in team fielding (.951).


Here’s the 2019 JUCO World Series All-Tournament Team:

IF: SS Cash Rugley, Navarro (TX)
IF: 3B Ross Indlecoffer, Iowa Western
IF: 1B Ronald Sweeney III, Iowa Western
IF: SS Michael Robinson, Walters State (TN)
IF: SS Liam Spence, Central Arizona
OF: CF Brennan Reback, Central Arizona
OF: CF Tyler Halstead, Cowley (KS)
OF: LF Caleb Balgaard, Iowa Western
OF: RF Hunter Jump, Central Arizona
C: Cody Milligan, Cowley (KS)
C: Jake Meyer, Central Arizona
P: Brandon Doty, Iowa Western
P: Jonathan Stroman, Central Arizona
P: Brandon Backman, Monroe (NY)
DH: Jose Gonzalez, Jr., Navarro (TX)
Homa Thomas Sportsmanship:
Jose Gonzalez, Jr., Navarro (TX)
Robert Purkey Outstanding Pitcher:
Dakota Donovan, Central Arizona
Jay Tolman Outstanding Defensive Player:
Cash Rugely, Navarro (TX)
Bus Bergman Coach of the Year:
Anthony Gilich, Central Arizona
Leading Hitter:
Ronald Sweeney III, Iowa Western
Preston Walker MVP:
Hunter Jump, Central Arizona