McNeil threatens NC career marks after 15 games

McNeil threatens NC career marks after 15 games


Parker McNeil gradually is cutting through Navarro College and Southwest Junior College Football Conference records.

After missing a week with injury, McNeil has become the Bulldogs’ career completion leader with 350 in 15 games. The combined 11 touchdown passes he’s thrown in wins over Tyler and Cisco give him 41 for his career, and the next one that he throws will be another career mark.

Statistics Through Games of September 21

McNeil again this season leads the NJCAA in per-game passing yardage (398) and now ranks second in touchdown passes with 14 as he’s led coach Scott Parr’s Bulldogs back into the SWJCFC playoff hunt with two straight victories.

It seems as McNeil goes, so go the Bulldogs. Navarro spiked this week in NJCAA team statistics to first in pass yardage (1894), first downs (111), passing first downs (70), second in total offense (2360 yards), and fifth in per-game yardage (472), thanks to the 610-yard effort for a season-high 51 points guided by McNeil against previously unbeaten, 17th-ranked Cisco Saturday. As a result, NC had a 500-yard passer, a 100-yard rusher, tandem 100-yard receivers, plus 147 return yards and a defensive score against the Wranglers.

In his last seven games spanning two seasons, McNeil twice has thrown for more than 500 yards and two for more than 400. All four games — topped by his single-game record 552 last year — are among Navarro’s Top 12 pass-yardage games.

The Navarro career records he’s targeting to dismantle mostly belong to Eric Rekieta, who played two full seasons for coach Chuck Lawrence’s Bulldogs (2000 and 2001) and later played at Louisiana-Lafayette.

Rekieta, previous owner of the completion mark, still is the career recordholder for pass attempts and touchdown passes.  Kenneth Arthur (2016) has the completion percentage mark.

Here is a list of Navarro quarterbacks who have thrown six touchdown passes in a single game since the 1999 season. It’s happened five times. Only four have done it; McNeil, twice.
Parker McNeil, v Cisco, 2019
Parker McNeil, v TVCC, 2018
Adrian Nelson, v TVCC, 2011
Eric Rekieta, v Tyler, 2001
Jeremy Denson, v Cisco, 1999


11 – Parker McNeil, 2019 (5 v Tyler, 6 v Cisco)
11 – Adrian Nelson, 2011 (5 v NEO, 6 v TVCC)
10 – Devlin Isadore, 2015 (5 v NEO, 5 v Tyler)
9 – Kenneth Arthur, 2016 (5 v Cisco, 4 v NMMI)
9 – Adrian Nelson, 2011 (4 v Cisco, 5 v NEO)
9 – Eric Rekieta, 2001 (6 v Tyler, 3 v NEO)